·
I ride a Swarf
1,314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys

Has anyone played with these?

double spiral CCFL DICHROIC LAMP

http://www.ultraleds.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=50&products_id=1091

Its designed for 240V AC (UK Mains voltage) I think, but u can get inverters to conver 12V DC to 240ac. (I Know i will have to be careful If I play with this idea :eek:) ....i got a degree in
electrical and electronic engineering).

I have seen these ppl make inverters that might work

http://www.ergpower.com/pub/

I am guessing it might be a bit fragile for bar mounting, but it might make a good helmet light in back up to my HID set I have on the bars at the moment Maybe even have 2. Even if the inverter is only 75% efficent thats 5 watts power consumption each once warmed up. And they claim they are cool to the touch so no heat sinks required like 5W luxeons.

Stu

·
Gone riding
3,350 Posts
You can get CCFL's in a 12-volt bulb, so an inverter isn't necessary.

Your biggest problem would be in harnessing the light output. It's going to be very hard to sort out a reflector to point the light where you want it. Also I'm sure the colour temperature won't be as great as a Luxeon or HID.

I do remember reading about a commuter who has rigged one up, I'll try and track down where I read about it for you.

And they claim they are cool to the touch so no heat sinks required like 5W Luxeons.
Fair enough, but is this really a negative point? Not matter which way you go you will have to make some sort of housing.

I think I've rather use a light source where the beam can be easily manipulated.

Dave.

·
I ride a Swarf
1,314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Low Rider