Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just went to take the new bike for the maiden voyage. got 100ft and heard something on the back tire. look at that, I ran over a small pointed piece of glass and the tip was stuck in my tread area. I see sealent hissing out of the wound. I pull out the shard and sure enough all the air comes out along with some sealant. I have brand spanking new hutchinson spider tubeless tires, olympic rims with olympic rim strip, and 2 cups of stans sealant. what did I do wrong? I see pictures with 40 screw drivers stuck in a tire and mine cannot handle a 1/8" cut? I popped the tire off, took out all the sealant and replenished with 2 fresh cups. it still will not seal the wound. any ideas?

·
Registered
202 Posts
My first reaction is, wow, that must be some cut, but you say it's small, so I don't know. I've been running Stan's in UST tires for almost two years, with no flats. And I almost never use even one full scoop per tire! I have seen it work with small goathead-type stuff that can otherwise flat tires fast. I do ride with it almost exclusively off-road, though, so maybe I haven't had the pleasure of glass-on-UST yet. I don't know about the Stan's marketing stuff, screws, nails, etc., though I often have wondered. As far as I know, some cuts cannot be sealed due to how they were made, where in the tire they are, etc. No setup can be 100% flat-proof, of course.

My guess: you were unlucky. With what you describe, this situation probably would have flatted anything. If the tire can be patched, try again.

·
Registered
526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·