Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I recently acquired a carbon bike and now I'm on the market for a torque wrench.

I live in Argentina, and unfortunately, tool availability is somewhat scarce. I found a good deal on a Shimano's PRO Torque Wrench and I was wondering if any of you guys have experience with it. I'm far from a professional mechanic, I just want to be safe when adjusting bolts during bike maintenance.

It seems that this kind of torque wrench needs to be calibrated every now and then, I am unsure how often that would be and how hard is the process (or even if I can do that myself). It is my understanding that the beam or deflection type does not need to be calibrated. I found a Lezyne one with this mechanism, that costs half of the PRO one (200 bucks for the PRO, 100 for the Lezyne one... yes, that expensive. C'est la vie).

Any experience on any one of those? Any general recommendations? As much I would like to receive brand and models recommendations, it probably wouldn't help since overall availability over here is really bad.

Many thanks for reading this far!

·
BOOM goes the dynamite!
6,852 Posts
Don't you guys have hardware stores over there? A torque wrench doesn't need to have a bike brand on it as long as it has the proper range (you may want a couple - one lower like these and one higher for stuff that requires more force).

That Lezyne only goes to 10 Nm. The PRO only goes to 15 Nm. They're good for smaller bolts. No idea on quality of either, but both brands are generally well regarded.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I checked a few hardware stores, but the ones I found were generic Chinese that went from 5 nM upwards. I don't really trust them, especially when I have a few bolts that are in the 4~5 nM range. Thanks though!

·
Registered
154 Posts