Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
XCdude
1,323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I read somewhere that after hard exercise your immune system is really low, so you can get ill quicker. I'm starting to believe it, I'm trying to get over cold number 4 this year. Is it just me or do you guys have the same problem:eek: Really sucks never been ready for a race because you are just getting over another cold.

·
Registered
2,225 Posts
moab63 said:
I know I read somewhere that after hard exercise your immune system is really low, so you can get ill quicker. I'm starting to believe it, I'm trying to get over cold number 4 this year. Is it just me or do you guys have the same problem:eek: Really sucks never been ready for a race because you are just getting over another cold.
I used to have the same problem then I switched coaches. I'm no expert, but it seems I was training to hard, now I do A LOT of easy riding and hardly ever get sick.

·
Pauly
87 Posts
I also believe it. Especially after my recent 7-day fever which started the day after my best ever mtb race effort. I hope you don't train the way I used to train: By simulating races with full-out effort over race distances on a challenging course 3 to 4 times weekly. That was such a waste of time. Now I realize that mtb endurance comes in part from the ability to make power for the hills (and not from enduring the hills) and that power increases come not from straining tired muscles but from high quality interval training using fresh legs followed by plenty of rest. Long, easy rides are fine for recovering muscles. I wasted so much time and energy by not training smart. Now I'm making big gains fast. And not getting sick. So. If you are getting sick alot. Make sure you're not making the same mistakes I made.

Good Luck

·
No no...the OTHER LA.
342 Posts