Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
N* Bomber Crew
4,271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time installing a Dual Crown fork. Should I have the shop cut the steerer tube, insert the star nut, and press the crown race and have myself install it, or should I just let the shop do the whole thing? (As in install it on my rig) I've installed lots of Single Crowns....is the dual any different minus the top crown?

Is there any special precautions I should take?

Any comments or suggestions would be nice, I just wanna make sure I don't run into trouble.

·
Registered
5,396 Posts
Raptordude said:
This is my first time installing a Dual Crown fork. Should I have the shop cut the steerer tube, insert the star nut, and press the crown race and have myself install it, or should I just let the shop do the whole thing? (As in install it on my rig) I've installed lots of Single Crowns....is the dual any different minus the top crown?

Is there any special precautions I should take?

Any comments or suggestions would be nice, I just wanna make sure I don't run into trouble.
i'd ask them to do all the preparations and then ask how to install it yourself and ask for pointers.

·
Registered
19 Posts
There is no difference besides the top crown. So take into account that the top crown will take up space on the steerer, but that is a given. You shouldn't have any problem if you have installed other forks.

·
Registered
372 Posts