Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding on a 2009 Trek fuel ex 5.5 as my first "real" Mountain bike and it is a 26" full suspension. Then I bought a 2010 redline D440 and have been riding the snot out of it because I like it so much. At first, I could not believe that I would prefer my rigid bike over a full suspension but not I put a fork on my 29er and ride it more. Every time I got to ride my 26" bike, I either go over the bars or wash out in corners. The big wheels have got me hooked but I dont know if I should keep my squishy bike now?:skep:

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
if you think you're not going to ride it much, then sell it- maybe start saving for a full suspension 29er. or you can keep the trek as your back-up/extra bike.

·
Registered
1,583 Posts
Keep it, in the long term you won't be sorry to have a 26er around,I could not even possibly think of a life without what a 26er has to offer,they really can compliment each other.

·
Registered
316 Posts
OP,

Your signature cracks me up, I love it, and may eventually be livin it. :thumbsup:

Ted

·
Fart smeller
Paid to post this crap.
19,859 Posts
I dunno, man- I have a Spec Enduro just sitting & gathering dust, and it gets older and less advanced. I like the idea someone else had of selling it (your bike) & putting the $ towards a new bike. Just don't spend the $ on little crap, or it'll all be gone & you'll have nothing to show for it.

·
Trying not to kill myself
391 Posts
Once I went 29er, I never could enjoy a 26" bike again. Sell it and put the money into a 29er FS. :thumbsup:

·
Trail Junkie
2,210 Posts
I don't know that many people that have been absolutely pleased with the Trek Fuel 5.5s..I mean I guess there is some, but I just think the price point was the appeal.