Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've just recently purchased a Specialized Rockhopper Disc 08. This is my first time having disc brakes, and I'm quite impressed with them so far. However I've got a few questions.

How can I wear in these brakes? I've heard there is a break-in period. Regular riding? Or should I do high speed stops?

Do I need to "pump" the brakes like a car without ABS?

Will I experience "brake-fade" as the rotors warm on serious downhill?

Can I warp the rotors with excessive heat? I'm one and a half times Clyde, so I'm sure I could build up a decent amount.

When will I know if my rotors/pads need changing?

Thanks ahead of time,
Jon!

·
Registered
2,271 Posts
djcornbread said:
How can I wear in these brakes? I've heard there is a break-in period. Regular riding? Or should I do high speed stops?
Either will work, if you JRA, it will take longer. Try a search - there's many topics covering bedding in pads

djcornbread said:
Do I need to "pump" the brakes like a car without ABS?
No...I mean, I guess you could...but you don't really need to pump the breaks in a car without ABS either (panic stop or on ice, maybe) but its better to just control the modulation. If the brakes are locking up, you're just squeezing too hard.

djcornbread said:
Will I experience "brake-fade" as the rotors warm on serious downhill?
Its possible depending on the length/steepness of the hill and how much you're riding the brakes. Factors like your size and rotor size also come into play. Larger rotor will exhibit less fade. Also, certain rotors are better than others - YMWV

djcornbread said:
Can I warp the rotors with excessive heat? I'm one and a half times Clyde, so I'm sure I could build up a decent amount.