Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What experience have you had with any of the facing tools out there? The Hope spot seem to be the economical choice but I've not used one before. Park has a new one coming out, the DT-1, but there is little info on price. The options seem to be:

Hope Spot, $120
CTS, $200, mounts to both drop-outs
Magura Gnann-o-mat, $250, tough to find
Park DT-1, $?

·
Registered
2,469 Posts
I've used the Magura before and I worked pretty well. I would not in a million years buy one for $250 though. I had a chance to fiddle around with the Hope tool and it seems pretty decent. Next time I need to face a brake mount, I am going to by the Hope.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Ratt said:
Hammerhead bikes rents out a magura facing tool for $30 or so.
yeah, that's what I've been asking myself but for a couple of years now. I built one disc bike last year and am about to start two disc projects, an On-One SS and a Genius MC. I like having my own tools and between my bikes and friends bikes I don't have a problem with the investment. I plan to ride for a long time.

Last year I asked my LBS, the biggest shop in Austin, to face my tabs and they looked at me like I was the confused one, told me to not the read too much into the message boards and suggested using shims, ugh.

·
Registered
26 Posts
I just used a Hope Spot facing tool that I paid $106 at Universal Cycles. It worked great. It's a must have tool if your are going to set up any IS type of disc brakes. It makes sure that the tabs for the brake mount are flat and square to each other. This is helps when you are trying to align the caliper to the disc. Proper setup will elminate that evil squealing.

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
consolidated said: