Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
809 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I'm looking for a new frame to base a new commuter build around to replace and ancient Trek I have been riding.

Here is the criteria I think needs to be filled:

Available in frameset only
700c wheels
Disc brakes
Clearance for a road compact crank
Flat MTB bars (read long TT compared to ST here...)

My number one pick right now is a Salsa Vaya frameset followed by a Soma Double Cross Disc...OR I guess I could use a 26" rigid frame and fork and stuff the 700c wheels in there but that just seems wrong somehow. Any thoughts here?

·
Bedwards Of The West
5,451 Posts

·
Bedwards Of The West
5,451 Posts
On topic:

I built an Access 29er from Performance Bike for my commuter... It meets all of your criteria. My compact double crankset (50/36) clears the chainstay, but wow...it's close. I've been riding it for a couple years with no issues.

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
Its building up to be a Gem, but I sacrified 700c wheels. this bike still seems like its gonna be a heck of a Commuter!
Just to be clear, you sacrificed 700Cs. The frame would support them fine.