Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i am new to the sport of mtb, and a friend of mine was selling an entry level bike, which i purchased from him. here are the specifications:

frame: 2006 Trek 4900
fork: rockshox J1
derailer rear: shimano LX (there are 8 gears at the rear)
derailer front: shimano acera (there are 3 gears at the front)
brakes: shimano LX (mineral oil disc)
shifter levers: alivio
cassette: sram 850
hubs: shimano 495
wheels: bontrager ranger
tires: bontrager acx jones
pedals: shimano 324

he also gave me tons of other info including seatpost length, model, stem mdoel... but i guess what I mentioned above ought to be enough for you to take a guess... he said that all the components are from march 2006 or newer.

i paid $450 for it... he was asking 500..

he said that he had tuned it up for me, but i took it to a bike shop anyways... and the bike shop dude told me that i paid too much for the bike... and there are many inferior components in the bike which wont last long. he told me that i should not take it to technical trails bcoz the bike may break down...

he says that i should return the bike and get a trek 6000 from the shop... I think its a marketing strategy, but you all would be a better judge of it.

so can you please help me find out if I got a lemon or not? he is my very good friend, so i have full faith in him, but the bike store dude got me thinking, bcoz after all, he is the "man" when it comes to bikes.... and I need a bike that will last for at least 4yrs

·
Registered
804 Posts