Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone run something like this? I'm coming off of a pair of Bontrager XR4s that I've enjoyed but want to try something different. I'm relatively new to riding (2 years) so I want to do a "survey" of tires and will probably try several pairs in fairly short order to see what I like.

My neighbor had a virtually brand-new 2.5WT DHF that he wanted to swap for a DHR2, so I said I'd buy the DHF. He runs tan walls so the DHF (and the 2.4WT Rekon that I ordered) are DC since that's all they offer in tan.

To my somewhat untrained self, XR4s seem to be a good balanced tire with traction vs. rolling. The DHF / Rekon combo weighs about the same total, but will shift more weight to the front with the DHF. Overall, hoping for more traction without a huge rolling penalty. This is for general trail riding in the Atlanta area with forays to the local free ride and mountains.

Saw that Worldwide Cycling really likes the DHR2/Rekon combo, but haven't seen much with the DHF.

Thanks...

·
Registered
451 Posts
Anyone run something like this? I'm coming off of a pair of Bontrager XR4s that I've enjoyed but want to try something different. I'm relatively new to riding (2 years) so I want to do a "survey" of tires and will probably try several pairs in fairly short order to see what I like.

My neighbor had a virtually brand-new 2.5WT DHF that he wanted to swap for a DHR2, so I said I'd buy the DHF. He runs tan walls so the DHF (and the 2.4WT Rekon that I ordered) are DC since that's all they offer in tan.

To my somewhat untrained self, XR4s seem to be a good balanced tire with traction vs. rolling. The DHF / Rekon combo weighs about the same total, but will shift more weight to the front with the DHF. Overall, hoping for more traction without a huge rolling penalty. This is for general trail riding in the Atlanta area with forays to the local free ride and mountains.