Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Someone stole my Pacific!
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just went on a ride with a bunch of friends, and one of us ripped the derailleur hanger off. I'm a beginner, so I never really encountered this before. After seeing all the problems we ran into (tried singlespeeding it, chain was too tight, ended up snapping the granny ring off the crank), I decided that I'll never ride again without a spare piece of chain and at least 1 derailleur hanger in my pack!

This sounded pretty easy, and pretty cheap to accomplish. I was wrong.

The bike is a 2001 or so Trek 4500. There's no number on the hanger. I also can't find any online reference tables that tell which hanger this is. Since this is a sacrifice part, I figured that it would be easy to find out which one it is. I was wrong! Didn't find anything on Trek's website either, under "Parts". Where do I look?

Why are they so expensive? For just a little piece of aluminum with a few holes drilled into it, I'd expect the cost to be about $8 or so. Comparatively, it looks like the rear derailleur for my bike is around $75. There's a helluva lot more parts, engineering, and precision in the derailleur than the hanger. Why would the hanger, just a little piece of metal, cost 25% of the derailleur itself?

Is there any place to buy hangers in bulk? Not that I'm expecting to rip a dozen off or anything, but I ride with sometimes upwards of 70 people. I'm sure a lot of them have the same hanger as me. Seems like if we got a good deal on a box of 10, it would be easy to find 5 people who would go in on it, and each take 2.

Thanks for any help you can offer, and sorry for the long winded post. I'm new to cycling, and a lot of this may seem basic and obvious to more experienced riders, but to me, it doesn't make sense!

Frank
:)

·
Registered
974 Posts