Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
23,381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Deore, Alivio, and Acera: Drastic Differences or a matter of "Gotta-have-it?"

When I started my researching one thing I consistantly hear is that I should have at least Deore R. Derailer and an Alivio F. Derailer is sufficient.

I'm wondering if there is really such a huge difference in quality (from actual road experience, not salesmen saying so) with these three levels of components. Is Deore a matter of "Gotta-Have-It" because it is the industry standard to have Deore on a Entry-Level XC Bike? Are certain levels more for "salesmanship" and in truth a level down (which cost less) is just as good?

I'm new to MTB shopping and I'm looking for a $600-$1000 XC bike for about 50 kms of weekday commuting and weekend XCing in and around Vancouver BC.

EDiT: I'm looking at a Devinci Coyote, Cactus, or Cameleon.

·
(enter witty phrase here)
2,250 Posts
Endostyle said:
When I started my researching one thing I consistantly hear is that I should have at least Deore R. Derailer and an Alivio F. Derailer is sufficient.
Yep that's pretty much right. Both good to start with. And both are pretty easy and cheap to upgrade in the future. Anything below Deore is pretty much junk. Alivo F. Derailleur is fine, but I'd stay away from anything else below Deore.

·
self destructive
169 Posts
if you get at bike that does not have at least a deore RD i dont think that you can upgrade to 9 spd with it if it does not come as a 9 spd bike. all the bikes that we sell at work have at lest a deore RD on all 9 spd bikes.

·
Registered
234 Posts