Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys..

Calling on some insight from the forum for help...

Just returned from a 2nd visit from my LBS and rode (again) a 2014 Trek X-Caliber 4 and this time a X-Caliber 6 to check out the hydraulic discs and lockout. Was offered the bikes at $500 & $690 respectively, with the X-Caliber 6 being at the very top of my limit.

Being a complete novice, I could not really appreciate the upgraded components on the X-Caliber 6 (other than the hydraulic brakes) over the X-Caliber 4. I need to make my decision within the next day if I am to take advantage of the Trek sale going on now.

I realize that most everyone says to get the most bike you can afford as it is cheaper in the long run. However, I'm thinking that this will mainly be a bike I use around town with some light trail duty (I live near both Carter Park and Alafia Trails and plan to check the beginner trails out).

I'm 5'6", 190 lbs, with a 29" inseam, which places me on a 15.5" frame. I've decided on a 29er, mainly because I prefer the stability compared to a 26. The 26er was definitely more nimble, but that made me feel less stable, if that makes any sense.

I was all set to decide between these two Trek models, mostly because I liked the way they ride and my LBS was very friendly and helpful. Plus being a new rider, I figure I could use all the help I can get. However, after doing some research on the forum, I came across several recommendations of the Marin's being sold for steep discounts online. I ended up coming across a few models that fit into my price range, but I don't know anything about them...

• 2013 Marin Bolinas Ridge - 15" ($520) + assembly $
  • 2013 Marin Alpine Trail - 15" ($640) + assembly $
  • 2013 Marin Bobcat Trail - 15" ($700) + assembly $

vs.

• 2014 Trek X-Caliber 4 - 15.5" ($500)
  • 2014 Trek X-Caliber 6 - 15.5" ($690)