Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! So it's my first post on the forum and hopefully some of you guys and girls could help me out with my questions! I look forward to learning and expanding my knowledge through this forum in the next couple of years; seems to be pretty informative!

I'm in the market for a new bike and can't really put my finger on one partiucular model.. I don't want to spend much more than $500 and have a few in mind. I've searched and compared specs, but quite frankly I am not an expert, and I wouldn't know the difference to its full knowledge-based potential. I'm 6'3, 230, so I definitely need a sturdy frame, at least a 20"-21" and I would like it to be a Hardtail bike. Just purely because I fell that until you get into the really expensive full-suspended bikes the rear shock isn't up to par. Currently I have a Schwinn S25; nothing special, but it gets the job done decently.. But I want more, so these are the models I have in mind...

--Giant Rincon

--Specialized Hardrock Sport or Disc?

--Trek 4300

I am definitely open to suggestions on other bikes but I am partial to these models.. The giant is my preference as of right now followed in consecutive order are my other choices. Pro's and Con's, Cheap upgrades and general advice would be more than appreciated.

·
Registered
1,388 Posts
I am 6'2" 220 pounds and my buddy is 6'1-6'2" and 200ish he just bought a $600 MTB.... I happened to be with him at the Trek store and noticed that the top tube on the Trek 5500 was either very short or my Cannondales is very long.

They never seem to have any XL frames to test ride so be careful they dont stick you on whatever they stock.