Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Doing some research this week and then of this weekend to my LBS to get some pedals and shoes.

What's some of the things I should look out for? Are most shoes/cleats compatible with most of the pedals?
etc.

Never used clipless pedals before so any info will be usefull :D

·
Back in the saddle!
123 Posts
phazer said:
Doing some research this week and then of this weekend to my LBS to get some pedals and shoes.

What's some of the things I should look out for? Are most shoes/cleats compatible with most of the pedals?
etc.

The cleats will come with your pedals, so buy whatever shoes you feel most comfortable in. (I think most shoes will be compatible, but I'm a newb myself, so don't take what I say as carved in stone.) Be sure not to get the slick road shoes. You're going to want something with a little traction so you can handle walking on the trail if/when you come off your bike.

My husband and I have only been 'clipless' a few weeks. We went the shimano route and bought the 520's. We bought them in case we didn't do well with clipless, there's an extra cleat set you can buy seperately that makes it easier to get out in emergencies. Neither of us needed it, though. I found I worried over the whole thing more than I actually hurt myself learning. I've actually had a few falls where I wish I wouldn't have clipped out to avoid the massive calf bruise I got from my pedal. It's been so much fun though and I've noticed my confidence and skills are improving. Go clipless and you won't go back!

Atty

·
Registered
14 Posts
I just got my Crank Bros. Candy's in this weekend. I've never ridden clipless before, but love it already. I haven't had any of the usual problems I hear people talking about with falls due to not being able to clip out in time (nice suprise, I was expecting some war wounds :D )