Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
since 4/10/2009
33,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This just happened a couple minutes ago and I'm steamed.

I'm headed in to campus...I'm a grad student and I have work to do. I'm driving, btw (I won't be ready to get back on the bike off the trainer for a couple months still). I come into campus and hit a 4-way stop sign. I see there are two roadies coming up the road, but I reach the intersection long before they do. I stop (complete stop...campus cops are stingy), and then I begin to proceed through the intersection. You see, I'm turning left. There is a left turn lane that I am in, and my signal is on.

Roadies aren't even moving very fast. Just cruising along. They don't even hesitate when they get to the stop, they keep rolling through like there was never a stop sign there. I have to slam on my brakes to avoid hitting them, and I shrug my shoulders/raise my hands in a "What the &$^# are you doing?!?!" gesture. ********s wave at me like I was being nice or something...and I see one of them has on a pair of f'n Bose noise cancelling headphones.

I commute to campus regularly on my bike. I never behave the way these @$$holes did. Pretentious pricks. I realize it was only a couple seconds, but idiots like that ruin the way cyclists are perceived by everybody else. I had half a mind to turn around, stop them, and give them a piece of my mind about their irresponsible and illegal riding behavior...but I thought better of that. Those guys are yet another reason I almost get run over half the time I commute to class on my own bike and why I put enough lights on to be seen from space (I got a really cool rope light to wrap around my frame for Christmas).

I take commuting seriously and I want to be safe doing it. I hope these guys get flats out in the country with no cell service or repair kit one of these days.

·
Custom User Title
371 Posts
spartan034 said:
dont stress about it