Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many people here wear cycling socks?
I have been riding on and off for close to ten years and have never owned a pair. Now, I usually use thin running socks that come up just above my ankle. When I first started riding in the mid-90's I used Dickies black work socks with my cycing shoes, Nike Pooh Bah.

Will I notice a difference from the socks I am using now? I just have a hard time spending the $ on socks. THey're like $6-7 a pair. I can usually by two pairs of the thin running sock I use for that price.

Again, will I notice anything different? Is there a special purpose/reason for wearing them that I am not aware of?

·
Registered
4,961 Posts
Ottoreni said:
I have been riding on and off for close to ten years and have never owned a pair. Now, I usually use thin running socks that come up just above my ankle. When I first started riding in the mid-90's I used Dickies black work socks with my cycing shoes, Nike Pooh Bah.

Will I notice a difference from the socks I am using now? I just have a hard time spending the $ on socks. THey're like $6-7 a pair. I can usually by two pairs of the thin running sock I use for that price.

Again, will I notice anything different? Is there a special purpose/reason for wearing them that I am not aware of?
You won't notice much difference between cycling sock and regular sock. I wear it for fashion statement. I can impress the chicks. :D However, you should wear 1 liner sock and another thin synthetic sock and you will be ok. When I refer to the word thin, I mean it should be reasonably thick but not winter wool sock.

·
Get your freak on!
2,696 Posts
Picard said: