Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
8,564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was skimming a PB article on some racer that I'd never heard of and read one of the comments calling her a role model. That got me thinking about role models and my mtb experience. I don't, and have never had a mtb role model. I just don't get the role model thing for cycling. Back when I was a young soldier there were a few "old timers" that I admired and learned from.

Do you have cycling role models? Racers? Why?

·
Formerly of Kent
12,347 Posts
I was skimming a PB article on some racer that I'd never heard of and read one of the comments calling her a role model. That got me thinking about role models and my mtb experience. I don't, and have never had a mtb role model. I just don't get the role model thing for cycling. Back when I was a young soldier there were a few "old timers" that I admired and learned from.

Do you have cycling role models? Racers? Why?
Ironically, her husband posts here regularly.

No, I don't view have any cyclist role models.

Why? Because it's their job. If they were also serious advocates for civil rights or had some other inspirational quality, perhaps.

Edit: Nairo Quintana is the only cyclist I know of that I find interesting outside of his cycling pursuits. Dude is pretty active with promoting gender equality for women in Colombia.

·
Rides all the bikes!
3,862 Posts
I guess it depends on what you think of as a "role model".

I follow Jesse Thomas (triathlete) pretty closely, mostly because of how open he is about the sport. He writes articles often, based on fan input about what various things are like. Including starting his own business while also racing as a pro knowing he can't be a pro forever. So I find it interesting seeing how a real pro athlete trains, recovers, lives life, all without it being strictly about putting his sponsors out there (he does that too of course).