Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm 5'9" and i weigh 152 pounds. i'm looking to get rid of what excess fat i've been hauling around. i'm looking for training/diet tips that would help me lose a good amount of useless weight in healthy way. I already ride 10 - 20 miles at least 3 or 4 times a week, but i'm looking to increase the seriousness of my training.

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
I'm about 150lbs too but only 5'6". My body fat hovers around 14%, although I just started riding a few months ago. My goal is around 10 or 11% by the end of the year and then maybe lower after that. How much weight do you want to loose? Make sure your goals are realistic. Loosing 2 or 3 pounds per week is about as much as you want to do while being healthy.

Here are some weight loss tips:
Dont skip on breakfast. This prevents you from craving high calorie foods later and helps keep up your metabolism. Also spread out what you eat throughout the day, eat more meals but keep the portions smaller also. Use common sense with what you eat. Choose wheat over white bread, whole grains, eat enough fruits and veggies, cut down on the saturated fat, drink plenty of water, etc. Multi Vitamin couldn't hurt either.

Good quote from a book I have is "Any self-improvement resolution, no matter how well-crafted, is doomed to failure if you become a slave to it." "... A healthful diet in an active liftestyle such as cycling has room for an occasional rich piece of chocolate cake. Look at it as a reward, not a failure."

Training tips