Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a virtual newb when it comes to anything bike related, especially wheels. I want to get some custom wheels built, but have no clue on what type of hoop/rim, spokes, nipples, etc, etc ... I do not need info on hubs as I already have xtr hubs that will be used. Can someone give me a good wheel build that will work with these hubs and will also meet the below requriements?

- Tubeless and tube compatible
- Light (I want the wheels to be around what the xtr or mavic sl wheels weigh).
- Strong
- wheels and spokes must be black (just for appearence).
- cost i would like to get them built for about $200 - 300.

If several of you can give me a list of of the above information it would greatly be appreciated, thanks

bert

·
Code Burr
1,382 Posts
bertperez said:
I am a virtual newb when it comes to anything bike related, especially wheels. I want to get some custom wheels built, but have no clue on what type of hoop/rim, spokes, nipples, etc, etc ... I do not need info on hubs as I already have xtr hubs that will be used. Can someone give me a good wheel build that will work with these hubs and will also meet the below requriements?

- Tubeless and tube compatible
- Light (I want the wheels to be around what the xtr or mavic sl wheels weigh).
- Strong
- wheels and spokes must be black (just for appearence).
- cost i would like to get them built for about $200 - 300.

If several of you can give me a list of of the above information it would greatly be appreciated, thanks

bert
You wont find wheels w UST rims handbuilt in that price demographic.
You will find the Mavic UST cross roc and mavic cross**** wheel sets.
And yes they have black spokes.
They are machine made so beware but there are deals on them all over the place.
Like $200 and up. If you want something custom with UST rims, its probably $350 + because the dang rims are $75 each.

·
Banned
72 Posts