Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Getting too old for this...
1,124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can get a new set for $439 plus a few bucks for shipping. These are the silver ones. They say they are right under 1500 grams. I'm no wheel expert, but is that a decent weight for a XC wheelset? I am running the original black CrossMax wheels from WAAYY back when they first came out. I'm curious as to you guys' thoughts on them. I'm sure Stans and DT and all the others are better or lighter, but I have a harder time finding those. Considering these wheels were around $900 new, seems like a fair deal. Thoughts?

·
I wanna go fast!
506 Posts
I would say that for that price, I would probably go for them. I have a 1400g disc wheelset that cost significantly more than that :). CrossMax SL will be a pretty solid wheel...only downside is proprietary spoke/hub/rim. Just my $.02.

·
Registered
1,124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have never bent or tweaked a wheel in 16 years of XC racing! My current Crossmax are from 1999 or 2000, and still look like new. I just want a new set of wheels, and have a wine taste with a beer budget, so $900 on a wheelset just isn't going to happen...but $439 from a real Mavic dealer with warranty, NIB, seems cool. Maybe I'll go for it.

Thanks.

·
SUBLIM8er
2,203 Posts
Those are at about 1470g, I think. I've not seen them that low before. I'd snap 'em up.:thumbsup:

·
I wanna go fast!
506 Posts
curtlo-dork said:
I have never bent or tweaked a wheel in 16 years of XC racing! My current Crossmax are from 1999 or 2000, and still look like new. I just want a new set of wheels, and have a wine taste with a beer budget, so $900 on a wheelset just isn't going to happen...but $439 from a real Mavic dealer with warranty, NIB, seems cool. Maybe I'll go for it.

Thanks.