Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I am new to mountain biking (weekend warrior), have done a ton of research and have confused myself. I am 195lbs, 5'11 living in a NYC suburb. I am new to mountain biking and upgrading a GF Wahoo that was used mainly for recreation. We ride a variety of trails some single track with climbs, downhills, rocks/logs and mud. I would say that the most I would drop is about 3ft I just don't see myself taking any 5ft drops even if I had the skill. I was originally going to go the hard tail route but now feel as though a full suspension maybe a better choice. I still want something relatively light and easy to climb with since in order to come down you must go up first. Below I have listed my choices that fit my budget and hope to test ride as many as possible. Any input would be great also will a XC bike still be able to handle single track and some small drops(2ft), rocks and such.

GT Avalanche Expert
GT Force 3.0
GT Marthon 3.0 - I really like this but it is listed as XC
Cannondale Prophet 4

·
Registered
55 Posts
GT Force 3.0.

I've had my eye on that puppy for a couple months now. I'm just trying to find 1300 clams.
Cannondale and their monoshock worries me. And it's kinda ugly.

·
Legend
1,287 Posts
The Cannondale will break and you'll be screwed. My friend's Avalanche has cracked the frame a few times .... he rides road like 15 times a year ... and he weighs 175lbs.

Not sure about the other two, but they can't be as bad as Cannondale.

·
Ride the dream
1,381 Posts
Prophets are pretty good.

I beg to differ to the above poster - I would NOT touch cannondale's CF frames at all (not just because i dislike CF, because those DO break, ALOT)... But some of their ALU frames are ok, and the prophet in particular is a pretty good bike.

The force is a good bike too..

From your list, I would only look at the Force and the prophet.