Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner in the gym and have started with a full body routine consisting of mainly compound exercises. I cannot do deadlifts due to chronic back pain and a microdisscectomy I had in 2007 for a ruptured disc. So I only really do squats for legs right now. I warmup by riding my fixed gear there but it's only about 4 miles. Nice hills though.

Would like to get some more leg specific exercises in there for some extra riding strength/endurance. I favor long rides consisting of "get to the top, bomb down" more than xc racing. Ide say I get nearly ten hours on the bike a week. Can't really do more because of work.

What do you guys work in for leg endurance?

My routine if you're interested is
Bench press
Squats
Shoulder press
Seated cable rows
Tri extensions
Preacher curl
I do these 3 sets of 10 and usually superset then move on to core followed by the ride home.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
183 Posts
Leg press for power. box jumps/step ups/stairs, calf raises, lunges, wall sits, burpees, mountain climbers will all help with endurance. Also work on fine tuning your rep counts. If you want to build strength, only do 3-5 reps per set but at a much higher weight. If you want to do endurance, do 12-15 reps per set.

·
Registered
2,659 Posts
Keep your riding hours as they are (at maximum schedule allows), then add these lifts 2-3 days a week after you get home from your ride:

"half squat, leg press with one leg at a time, one-legged hip flexion, and ankle plantar flexion"

4 sets of 10 of each, i believe. Scientifically proven to add power amongst a group of national level cyclist, when compared to the non lifting group.

I manage to do all those movements at home with dumbells and elastic band. One legged standing squat can work for one legged leg press.

·
Registered
497 Posts