Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Zion 737 that I have been riding for a couple of years with different configurations. During standing climbs, it creaks pretty loudly from the BB area. I have tried different pedals, cranks, BB, headset, and wheels, but the creak remains:mad: I have greased the eccentric also with no luck? Any ideas?

·
Out spokin'
In cog? Neato!
16,319 Posts
mwarner57 said:
I have a Zion 737 that I have been riding for a couple of years with different configurations. During standing climbs, it creaks pretty loudly from the BB area. I have tried different pedals, cranks, BB, headset, and wheels, but the creak remains:mad: I have greased the eccentric also with no luck? Any ideas?
What kind of EBB does your Zion frame employ?

Split shell / pinch bolt?
Internal expanding?
Other?

--sParty

·
Out spokin'
In cog? Neato!
16,319 Posts
mwarner57 said:
Not sure what you call it, but there are two bolts on the bottom of the BB shell that press into the eccentric and keep it from rotating.
That's a set screw EBB.

I'm sorry, I don't have any direct experience with that type of EBB. Other than the standard tactic of applying a liberal amount of grease between the eccentric and the shell, I don't know what else to say.

It's too bad the frame manufacturer mounted the set screws on the bottom of the shell. The should have installed them either on top of the shell (on either side of the ST/DT junction) or on the front of the shell. The reason being, the way they are situated now, you're standing on the set screws instead of the BB shell itself whenever you're applying power to the cranks.

You might try greasing the heck out of the set screw threads, too.

Best of luck.

--sParty

·
openwound
580 Posts