Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I been riding a trail I built behind my house in the woods and I've got a bike,technique question.
I have a nice straight section that has a turn that goes to the right.Not quite a switchback but close.I can come down the straight flying on my fs bike give it a little brake and lean into it and up the turn I go.If I come down the same trail with my old rigid mtb I give it a little brake,lean into,then the front wheel goes berserk and down I go.
The trail is hard packed dirt.I have a Continental slash 2.1 on the front of the fs and a Hutchinson python on the front of the rigid.It doesn't feel like i lose traction though.Is it me?the rigid?the tire?
It's really bugging me.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I haven't tried it on my hardtail yet.I'm really new to the tech trail riding and I'm wanting to improve.It's not easy to explain but I am consistent with my technique.When I make the turn on the fs I can feel the the bike take the energy in it's suspension.Is riding the rigid with the same approach as riding the fs what is making me crash?

·
Ride the dream
1,381 Posts
You're comparing two rather different tires, youve got a fast xc tire (ideal in dry conditions if i remember right) with a slightly more agressive tire suited better to wetter riding.
That might make an awful lot of difference to start off with.

You could always try running the Slash on the front of the hardtail and see'ing how that works out.
Different tires work best in different conditions - some are better suited to leaning hard into turns, some are better not leaned so much, etc.

Theres lots of things that can cause the problem you're having - it can be technique, it can be tires, it can be handling traits (stem-too-short/bars-too-narrow for the bike give twitchier handling, which in some situations may make things more difficult than they need to be).