Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my 5 spot for 3 1/2 years on stock RF X type evolves, but never even thought about crank length.

The cranks are going to be put on my hard tail, so am wandering about whether a new XT set should be bought at 175 or 170 length.

I'm 5' 7'' with a 29 inside leg, so thought that the shorter crank arm might be better for reducing the amount of bend in my leg at top position.

Any thoughts?

Cheers

·
GUIDANCE COUNSELOR
3,844 Posts
I think I read somewhere that the rule of thumb for mountain bikes is:

170mm for those under 5'10"
175mm for those over

There are alot of theories, but I think this rule is pretty good. If you are really short, or really tall, obviously this doesn't apply. People used to say that optimum crank length is equal to your inseam x 5.48. I'm not sure that really applies to mountain biking as much as road riding, as mountain biking is pretty much a whole different technique. Some singlespeeders use 180's to get extra leverage and some DH/freeriders use shorter cranks for more clearance.

·
Natl. Champ DH Poser/Hack
12,942 Posts
me? not thinkin so noah. off road requires alot more on/off torque than road. im 5'9' and rode 170's on a mtb and it pretty much sucked. felt like i was on a childs bike. 170's for more like 5'5" and less with a reasonably comparitive inseam. not sure if theres a good off road rule for this or not. funny, as there should be. with the diff types of ridin these days the answers are sure to be all over the place. longer for xc, shorter for fr and dh, down right tiny for trials. maybe someones got somethin that makes more sense than this.

i think ya gave it a good try though noah and i see where ya were commin from but i run a 172.5 on a dbl and a 175 on a tpl for the road. i think most my size do.