Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am very new to biking and was hoping to get help with an issue. Any input is much appreciated.

I was recently riding my bike, and my crank arm fell off. I grabbed the pieces that fell to the ground then headed home and put everything back together (or so I thought) the next time I went riding the crank arm fell off within 5 minutes of riding.

Im guessing maybe I'm missing a piece? Maybe a few? I really don't know. Thanks in advanced.
Wheel Tire Automotive tire Automotive lighting Automotive design
Bicycle part Red Fender Rim Bicycle
Automotive tire Bicycle part Wheel Rim Petal
Liquid Plant Automotive lighting Petal Tints and shades
Automotive lighting Petal Plant Gesture Fender

·
Registered
15,772 Posts
It doesn't look like you're missing anything important but judging from the pic showing the back side of the crankarm it looks pretty messed up. Those type of crankarms can easily get ruined if they're ridden long at all while loose and then will never stay tight again.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Did mine :
Clean the parts with zippo
Red loctite on the square hole (can try jb weld)
Blue loctite on the thread
Tighten with hammer

Wont drop anymore.

Will need cursing next time you remove it

·
Elitest thrill junkie
36,907 Posts
When you ride with a loose crank arm, it destroys the interface between the spindle and the crank. It will constantly loosen up thereafter in 98% of the cases.

If this was a new bike, the bike shop did not torque the crankarm correctly or check the torque. If it's been a while, it's something that you'd be responsible to be checking. These press-on spindles take a lot of force to get set correctly and some inexperienced riders are not used to what that means and how much torque it takes.

·
Registered
212 Posts