Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 119 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
I have to say that from looking at the pictures you posted the damage looks like it could have been caused from something hitting the bike. On the left side of the cracks it looks like a chunk of the material is gone, maybe it's just the picture quality. I'm probably completely wrong and I'm no carbon expert, I hope everything works out for you. Please keep us updated so we all know how things work out. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
Caused by clamping the bike by the top tube?

·
Registered
225 Posts
Both Trek and Spesh do a lot of research into a frame before warranties. Can you blame them? If every Joe Shmoe cracked thier 06 S Works just to get a new top of the line, they'd go broke. Clearly Spesh knows something you dont

·
Registered
875 Posts
So you have used this bike for 3 years, and just now, a "defect" shows up, out of the blue?
Looking at your picture, that sure looks like impact damage.

Any frame, carbon, aluminum, etc.. from any company, if it has any "defects" they will generally show up very quickly, and be very consistent, ie: the same failure mode on a number of frames.

If Specialized offfers you any kind of crash replacement deal - take it.

Oh, In my opinion, the fact that your first post is threatening litagation is really :rolleyes:

·
Trail Rider
1,670 Posts
Maybe it's the pic quality, but it looks like it took some kind of impact.

Scratches, skuffs, and as Oz said, it looks like a chunk of carbon is gone. They look like gouges from an impact.

What do I know? That's just what it looks like from the posted pictures.

Hope it works out.

·
Registered
5,673 Posts
madskatingcow said:
+1 : looking at your first picture, you are clamping the frame by the top tube in fact ... and that's what every carbon frame manual states : only clamp the bike by the seat post when putting it in a bicycle stand for cleaning / repairing.