Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been riding a RIP 9 since Feb 2007 and have had nothing but great memories of a kick ass bike. Just a couple of weekends ago I went to the Fruita Fat Tire Festival and was fortunate enough to demo a Tallboy all day on the Lunch loops.

Wow! I was blown away. The bike wasn't even setup with the size right stem and the bars were too low for my liking but the bike was just magic. It was screamin fast and smooth in everyting. I actually lent the bike to a buddy who is NOT a 29er convert and he was convinced after two trail rides. That just confirmed what I was feeling.

The cool part was that I had my RIP with me so I was able to do back to back comparisons on similar trails. When I got on the RIP after riding the Tallboy I felt right at home. The RIP can handle it all but all I kept thinking about was the Tallboy's killer ride.

A week after I got home I sold my RIP to a buddy and ordered the Tallboy. I guess they're pretty hard to find right now but I found one at Colorado Cyclist. It showed up on Friday and I just got back from the maiden ride. I took it one of my favorite trails, Hawes Trail. The bike felt just like I remember it in GJ. Freaking magic. This bike is awesome. It's got all the same parts from my RIP and the geometry is basically the same so the bike felt perfect on the first ride. The bike went from a 30 pound build as a RIP to a sub 28 pounder as a Tallboy. The frame alone was a 1.5 pounds lighter and the rest came from a pair of lighter tires, smaller disc and lighter pedals. I'm running an SB8 in the back and The Captian S-Works in the front. I was pleasantly surprised by The Captian. I used to ride the Nevegal. We'll see how they hold up. I also had to go to a smaller rotor in the rear as the Tallboy has a max of 185mm in the rear.

I couldn't imagine that a bike could get any better than my RIP 9. Well it can.

Attachments

·