Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm really new to the mountain biking scene and haven't even gotten a bike yet..... I'm willing to spend about $600 on a bike just to see how much I like doing it. I was thinking about getting a used GT XCR 1000.... for $450 it has about 5-6 years off use, no upgrades.... do you think this is a good bike to get or should I get a brand new one? and which brand new one? How do I know if the shocks and front forks are still good? How do I put air into the shocks or do I even put air in it? Sorry I got so confused trying to read up about parts and stuff like that.
:confused:

·
Wizard of the Trail
912 Posts
itsmekwen said:
I'm really new to the mountain biking scene and haven't even gotten a bike yet..... I'm willing to spend about $600 on a bike just to see how much I like doing it. I was thinking about getting a used GT XCR 1000.... for $450 it has about 5-6 years off use, no upgrades.... do you think this is a good bike to get or should I get a brand new one? and which brand new one? How do I know if the shocks and front forks are still good? How do I put air into the shocks or do I even put air in it? Sorry I got so confused trying to read up about parts and stuff like that.
:confused:
Well, I owned a xcr series gt i-drive and it was good bike. The thing is, the I-drives were prone to cracking in the seatstay area. I really believe that these bikes that cracked were really beat, but I could be wrong. As far as the price, I am not sure its a good deal. It depends on the componets that are on it and what condition its in. I have no idea what year and parts are on that bike. The price sounds steep to me, but I am sure someone else will know better. Also, since the seatstays are prone to cracking, a warranty would be nice, but is out of the question since its used.