Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to mtb so I don't have the know how that you all do. I come from a BMX back ground and I'm just looking for a fun ,slack hardtail ,do it all bike. This is what I'm looking @ Marin Bikes | Rocky Ridge 7.6 | Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes, and City/Commuter Bicycles | us
Marin Rocky ridge 7.6
I have only seen one review on it and the only comments I have seen are that its Butt*ss ugly . I don't really think it looks bad @ all, but do you think it looks worth the $$.
These are also a few other bikes i have glanced at: Transition transAM 29, Diamondback Mason, Kona honzo or the Trek stache 8 is pretty nice looking. Thanks for the help. Cheers

·
Registered
4,585 Posts
I have had a Canfield Bros. yelli since late 2012 and love it, a blast to ride. I have never heard of this Marin model and am only generally aware that Marin exists as a company. I think you have listed several other favorites in this class of bikes so you know what to look for. JensonUSA used to sell the Mason direct at a great price, you may want to check to see if they still do. Below is a 2013 review of the Mason if you are interested

Bike Magazine's 2013 Diamondback Mason Review - YouTube

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks for the great feedback. thats a good option. The only thing thats a downer about the mason is it weighs 30lbs. Not sure if that would bother me or not? 99% of people around here seem to be on feather light XC bikes. Is there anything I could do right off the bat that would lighten it a little bit? Also most people really don't seem to know much about Marin? I'm not hearing good or bad things but all their bikes look pretty legit. I know the Rocky Ridge 7.6 weighs 26-27 lbs.

·
Registered
1,844 Posts