Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was out today riding one of the local DH courses (Tamarack Idaho). Lots of sweeping berms, rollers and jumps. Nothing real technical, but since I am new to DH it can all be technical to me. Just wanted some advice on railing turns with berms. How to approach, body position, braking prior to turn. Also, the berms I was on today were pretty soft and I often found myself plowing the front wheel though them rather then rolling them.

Any advice would be great.

·
Old No. 7
1,453 Posts
Here are the two things I read on this site and have helped me a lot.
1. Look past the turn, to where you are going, not at your front wheel.
2. Break before the turn, not during the turn.
I personally like to lean back and into the turn, I don't know if this is the best position or not, just the most comfertable for me. Also, common since, I always have my inside foot up and my outside foot down on the pedels, I kinda hold them at a 45' angle from flat, if that makes since.

·
Registered
23,381 Posts
what fred said are two main great ideas.....dont brake in the corner just before. that will help. cornering just takes skill and feeling in my opinion. just practice and you will get an idea of how to go fast.

·
Loves His Sunday
670 Posts
keep your inside pedal up in the top of the stroke and your outside down so you don't clip a pedal on the inside as you lean in. of course i ride a sunday so I am extremely concious of this

·
Beer Swilling Clyde
323 Posts
mxrider489 said:
keep your inside pedal up in the top of the stroke and your outside down so you don't clip a pedal on the inside as you lean in. of course i ride a sunday so I am extremely concious of this