Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm fairly new to the sport and my gf started at the same time as i did. many years ago i rode so it's more of a second time around for me but it's her first time. she likes going and i have no problem getting her to go with me. the problem is that she won't go alone. ever. and i've gotten yelled at many times for suggesting it. i've progressed much quicker than she has because i have no issues about going alone and go quite a bit more frequently than she does. during the week we have very different schedules that make it hard to ride together.

i'd like to get her to go out more which would mean going alone. how do i go about doing this? she's from the city and is really afraid of people being in the woods and grabbing her or getting eaten by a bear (we only have black bears around here and they're scarce). i grew up in the woods around here and it doesn't bother me at all. yet she has no problem running alone on the streets around here which aren't exactly super nice which scares me more. would a can of bear mace or something help get her out or would i just end up with it sprayed in my face for suggesting it?

·
Registered
93 Posts
If she feels that strongly, pushing her will only make it worse. Let her do her own thing. If you want her to get out more look for some others for her to ride with besides yourself. Look for a local riding club and if there is a wormen's ride that would be even better.

·
feeling squirrelly
712 Posts
Ok, I am all for riding alone. However, I have been riding for several years and am comfortable that I won't get myself in over my head, I know the trail systems I ride very well and I know enough basic mechanical skills to get myself back (hopefully).