Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i've been running 1x10 for 2 years now and my collection of front shifters is well, just collecting dust. And after seeing Jared Graves setup on his bike, I was inspired.

I use the KS Lev on my Mojo HD, I love it. The switch/lever though I do not. I crashed riding my moto years ago and broke my left thumb into the 2nd joint, so I have limited angles to comfortably deal within.

I first removed the cap/body, and then used a dremel to remove the top ( only the top ) of the rivet which serves as the fulcrum/pivot for the key which is spring loaded and pushes the key into notches in the main body driven by the large shift lever. Once the rivet's head was ground off, I pryed up the plate, removed the spring, and key and put everything back together. I dremel'd off the secondary short lever as I wasn't willing to remove the main central rivet/assembly that everything revolves around. Another nice attribute, is the fact that it has a barrel adjuster with decent range on it.

I put it back together, and the xtr large lever throw matches the KS Lev dead on. The lever provides a lot more leverage and it is so smooth. I can't believe I haven't done this earlier.. it is sooo much more comfortable... anyways, attached are a few shots.

IMG_0810.jpg IMG_0813.jpg IMG_0817.jpg IMG_0818.jpg

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nice, I have a used XO front 2 speed shifter. I took it apart, and I think it is probably easier to convert than the xtr was, but everything else is xtr on the bike so I had to... : )

·
Registered
171 Posts
For anybody with the KS seat posts , they have introduced the SouthPaw to serve the same purpose as above.

·
Registered
574 Posts
I was able to do this mod on an old X7 2x10 shifter. I pulled off the upper housing and then carefully ground off the ratchet tooth with a dremel. Reassembled. Works like a charm.

·
Registered
419 Posts