Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
newbie here. I’ve ridden a Rockhopper elite all year and really enjoyed it, so much that i want to upgrade.
I liked the look, weight and components of the 21my Specialized chisel comp but see they have just changed the spec from Shimano components to one from basic SRAM drivetrain and brake components, and put the price up. In the meantime I’ve looked at the Canyon CF6 which has all the shimano drive train and brakes and its carbon fibre.
my riding is mainly road and dirt trails, nothing aggressive and probably wasted on me but I don’t like the look of Gravel bikes.
Im only shying away from the SRAM stuff as I’ve been told shimano is way more reliable
What do you guys think ?…

· Registered
15,312 Posts
Sram GX drivetrain and up is dependable. I see SLX on the current Spec listing. Search find nearby to see stock in shops.
I now see you're in the UK.
In that price range I'd look at a Ragley Big Al 1.0. Still good for your riding .. .. but you'll be equipped for a broad range of trails in your country. They're really fun.

· Registered
Obsessively progressing
285 Posts