Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie in this forum, also not very experienced MTB rider, but I decided to build my own bike. I selected parts I want to put on it, but since I'm not very experienced, I thought I'd ask for help here.
The idea is to build a carbon bike (unable to buy aluminum FS frame in my country), but on the budget end of the spectrum. I plan on buying most of the items from aliexpress. Here is a list:

Frame: SERAPH FM038 or SERAPH FM158 (I like the FM158 better)
Fork: BOLANY 32RL
Rear shock: SR SUNTOUR Raidon with lockout
Groupset (Shimano Deore M6100): Crankset, Bottom Bracket, Rest of groupset
Brakes (Hydraulic): Shimano MT200
Stem: TOSEEK Carbon
Handlebar + Seatpost: TOSEEK Carbon
Wheels: PASAK LOCA 29" Aluminum
Tires (outer): MAXXIS 29x2.1"
Rest of the stuff I can find locally

If you have suggestion for improvement without drastic cost difference, I'd like to hear/read.
I would like a second, third, ... 23rd opinion before I go and spend around $2000 online.
Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance,
Kiko

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
I do not like that Bolany fork. You can find a Manitou (Machete?) on aliexpress that would be a lot better. Will be a lot more expensive, though. Other stuff looks OK to me.

It's going to cost more than you think.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Any thoughts about which frame would be better?
I will go on cross country rides, no or minimal jumps, that's why the bolany fork too. Because I read that carbon frames cannot take much torture with higher jumps.

·
Registered
161 Posts
  • Go with the SERAPH FM038... its got a slightly slacker Head Tube (68 degree) so itll be more stable and modern for an xc bike.
  • Go wider on the tires (2.3 width)
  • Go with Deore brakes (M6100) - These brakes are awesome! Better to go less money with the shifters over brakes.