Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone this is my first post. I'm a complete newb and know absolutely nothing about bikes. I have a friend helping me out who street bikes (really skinny tires). Today I looked at a 2014 Trek X-Caliber 4 and really liked it. It costs about $550. I want to do some trail riding this summer when I transfer to VA. I didn't really want to spend that kind of money since I'm a new guy. So here's my question I found a 2014 Motobecane 429HT 29er on bikesdirect.com for $399.95. Is this a decent bike, or would I just be throwing my money away? The website said it has free shipping, no tax, and the bike with be 90% assembled. Let me know what y'all think. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
248 Posts
By transferred, I assume you mean military? If so, the benefit of a local bike shop (lbs) might not benefit you, since you may not be in the same place for long. But ask....most give some sort of military discount. Basic rule is to buy all the bike you can afford. I've found that the motto " you get what you pay for" holds truer in bikes than almost anything else I've ever bought. Most consider an entry level bike at least $800-$1000. But, not everyone can, or is willing to, pay that to start something new, which is understandable.