Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to MTBR, I started lurking around a year ago when I got interested in biking last summer. After 1 year of riding local trails (Arkansas) I'm finally getting a break from school that I'm gonna use to break out and go ride some really sweet trails in the rockies... That's where you guys come in.

I've been skiing plenty of times, but have never been to Colorado during the summer. Right now the plan for my trip is for me and a buddy to load our bikes, tents, and camping gear (this trip is on the cheap) and spend July 6-July22 biking in the rockies (want to be in Chicago the 23rd for Lollapalooza), that's pretty much all we have planned out.

I know we really don't have enough time to see much of the multitude of trails up there, so I'd like to max out the time I've got. We're planning on hitting up a major ski park (lifts easy) and I'd like to go to Fruita, or even drive out for an early morning ride at MOAB (if the weather looks cool enough) but I'd really appreciate any tips, locations, or advice from people who have had some experience biking up there.

What are some of the favorite trails up there?
good areas where camping amenities are offered?
how does the altitude usually mesh with riders from near sea level?
Any non-biking activites to reccomend, or night-life areas?
What stuff will I not think to pack that I will want when I get there?
Are the bugs bad at that time of year?

Any info or advice you can think of would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help!

Clay

·
Arrrgggghhh!!
281 Posts
Depending on snowpack you should plan on hitting:

Monarch Crest (Salida)
Crested Butte
Kenosha Pass to Georgia Pass

All 3 are high altitude areas so you might want to get some acclimation prior to hitting them.

·
Domestic Fowl
869 Posts
Might want to try posting this in the two Colorado regional forums (Front Range and Western Slope) here on MTBR.