Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so i am looking for a FS XC bike! I have owned a few treks through my life and i have been very happy with the bike, the componants, service and everything else!

Now here is the hard part, i am a college student looking for this bike so i am watching the used market. I have about 550 saved right now and i fiugre that if i look hard enough i can find something when i have the appropiate funds. Now i am looking for an entery level XC bike. So i was looking at the fuel 70. How much better is the 80? Is it worth the money an the wait to step it up?

Should i look used or should i just suck it up and save the money and get one new? I work at a student workers job for 6 bucks an hour so that will show you how long it takes to serve. I ride a trek 830al right now and it has proven me well, I have gone through and upgraded everything on it and repalced alll the componets through the years.

So is it worth it to get the 70? Or should i move up?

All suggestions are welcome

·
Registered
388 Posts
what year are the used fuels that you are looking at? have any of the original parts been replaced?

I have a 2003 fuel that has been very good to me. Sometimes I think an extra inch of rear travel would be nice, but the bike has never let me down on the trail. it's great on tight single track and it climbs better than i do.

Remember, the warranty on the bike only applies to the original owner. If you buy a used one and have a problem, it's your problem. You can probably pick up a new 2005 Trek hardtail for close to your price range. everything would be new and come with a warranty. not as flashy (or comfy) as full suspension, but still may be an option...

·
TXAG
174 Posts