Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
J'aime le Dunkeld
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this thread is repetition for some of you - I know there have been similair questions before but im damned if I can find them...
So, does anyone have any experience with putting the 7" travel plates on a coiler (and, yes, invalidating frame warranties, > 3:1 ratio etc.)? I've already got a bigger fork on mine, but I could really use more back travel to stop it bottomming loads with my preferred soft set-up. Also I'm a student and I'm skint, thus can't afford a longer travel frame. Any info appreciated. Cheers.

·
solid gold plated
878 Posts
an alternative could be to try getting a shock with a longer rear stroke, perhaps give ebay a look, try for a Fox shock, like a DHX or Vanilla with a 200mm eye to eye distance and 57mm stroke

·
I railed it like Kong
637 Posts
You can't use a longer shock i2i. You can find a longer stroke shock but run the risk of your tire rubbing the seat tube. A .25 longer stroke will give you another inch almost.

·
I railed it like Kong
637 Posts
That's the idea. But you don't know if it will actually work until you mount it and check the tire clearance.

·
Its got what plants crave
5,933 Posts
Couldn't he run a 24" tire in the rear? Sounds like he's riding some pretty gnarly stuff if he needs 7" of travel, so a 24" wheel/tire might work for him too.

·
solid gold plated
878 Posts
im really interested to know if anyone has been succesful fitting a 200mm eye to eye shock with a 57mm stroke on it.

i currently ride an 05 coiler also, and will at some point be getting a new shock or an old one push'd so if theres a possibility of squeezing a little more travel out id be well chuffed :D

so if anyone knows of anyone doing this chime in :thumbsup:

btw another problem that might occur with a longer stroke is the swingarm coming into contact with the front derailuer under full compression.

·
I railed it like Kong
637 Posts