Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm planning on upgrading the fork on my Specialized Hardrock and I was looking at the Tora 318. I'm pretty new to biking and while I've read about the pros and cons of coil vs. air suspension I'm still not sure what to go with. I'm pretty lightweight (don't know exact weight perhaps 140lbs) and 5'10". I do all cross-country biking and the most amount of air I'm going to be getting is about 2'. I also like to go down 5-6 step staircases and jump curbs in my local shopping center. Can you provide any help based on given info? Do I need to provide more background?

·
I AM I AM
2,222 Posts
Well the air forks ramp up more so you're less likely to "bottom out" (think as you squeeze air it becomes more pressurised and becomes harder to squeze more. So in that regard some people say air forks are not as "plush" as some coil forks.
Coil forks are more "linear" so you have a plusher feel throughout the travel.

In my opinion the extra expense of buying the correct spring to suit your weight when you get a coil fork is kind of negated if you factor in that for an air fork you have to buy a shock pump (if the fork doesn't already come iwth one - and even if it does it would be factored into the price of the fork).

So look at it this way:

Air forks:
Lighter,
More adjustable so perhaps more versatile
Need servicing more often
You need a shock pump

Coil forks:
Plusher (or more linear travel)
Heavier
Need servicing less often
You may have to buy a heaveir / lighter rated spring to suit your weight.