Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First post here. This site has a wealth of knowledge. I've done a ton of searches and am starting to get a clue but I need a little help.

I am 6' 4" and 255-260 lbs (out of shape but not too bad) and 29. I am new to mountain biking and am looking for something to ride to school (2.5 miles one way) and ride out in the canyons (Palo Duro in Texas) on the weekends with the wife and friends. I'm a student so funds are limited and have been shopping around at the LBS in my area, but it seems the selection is kind of limited. I did find an XL Specialized Rockhopper at the main LBS here that fit really well, although at this point I'm not sure that I could tell the difference. It's the right price but I think that the Axel comp fork will get thrashed pretty easily with my size. The sales guy was a really nice guy and very helpful but he was the opposite side of the spectrum from being a clyde, so I wanted to check with you guys first to see what else I should be looking at for around $400-$600.

Thanks in advance!

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
You're right about the Axel

amams said:
First post here. This site has a wealth of knowledge. I've done a ton of searches and am starting to get a clue but I need a little help.