Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all,

Long time lurker, first time poster in this folder.

I'm interested in either doing my own wheel build, or purchasing the parts and having someone else do a wheel build, for a 29" front wheel.

I've never done one of these before, and am looking for suggestions as to what parts are best for a Clyde who's also looking to keep the costs down. Fork would be a rigid fork if that matters, but may also want to consider using a suspension fork in the future.

Also, how hard is it to build one's own wheel? I've never done it before, but I do have Zinn's book and it seems pretty straightforward, aside from truing the wheel for which I don't have the stand.

Thanks in advance!

·
HammerHead
290 Posts
You need truing stand for sure. You can get cheap one like this
http://www.performancebike.com/shop/profile.cfm?SKU=15314&subcategory_ID=4221
Without it will be very hard to build a round straight wheel. If you jut need to build one wheel, you are better off, letting your LBS to do it. Other then that you can follow instructions in the book you should be ok. always use new spokes and nipples.

·
A wheelist
5,991 Posts
jddjirikian said:
Greetings all,

Long time lurker, first time poster in this folder.

I'm interested in either doing my own wheel build, or purchasing the parts and having someone else do a wheel build, for a 29" front wheel.

I've never done one of these before, and am looking for suggestions as to what parts are best for a Clyde who's also looking to keep the costs down. Fork would be a rigid fork if that matters, but may also want to consider using a suspension fork in the future.

Also, how hard is it to build one's own wheel? I've never done it before, but I do have Zinn's book and it seems pretty straightforward, aside from truing the wheel for which I don't have the stand.

Thanks in advance!