Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
"55 lbs and climbing!"
1,034 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is running the captain and stoker cranks in unisen the only proper way to line them up?

Could they be run a quarter rotation different from one another so as to limit the dead spot and rid pulsation from the front suspension?

·
Derailleurless
9,122 Posts
I don't have an opinion to offer -- I'm new at this and we run ours "in phase." But search the web for "in phase" and "out of phase" tandem cranks and you'll come up with a lot of reading material.

Most of it pertains to road tandems and discusses 90° alignments, which may not be such a great thing for off-road riding (obstacle clearance an all that), but you'll also find references alignment changes of just a few teeth, as well as some opinions on da Vinci's Independent Coasting System.

·
Long Live Long Rides
397 Posts
BMJ,

If you can just talk Alan an Ted at chumba into making the Evo tandem they designed you wouldn't care about in-phase....

Seriously, most arguments comedown to smoothness vs. obstacle clearance. Also finding a comfortable foot position for both riders on longer downhills. There has also been much discussion of this over on Double Forte.

·
Registered
67 Posts
It greatly depends on what your stoker likes (coasting with a pedal slightly up/down can be weird feeling and out-of-the-saddle climbing is tougher) but we have been running about 20 degrees out of phase and it has made a significant difference in climbing traction. On Double Forte I listed off the benifits (http://sports.groups.yahoo.com/group/DOUBLE_FORTE/message/16060) that we found from this setup and after racing that way for 100 miles I still think it offered an advantage for that course (sandy and loose climbs that you had to stay seated for). On other courses with out-of-the-saddle climbing it might not be as good a setup. We didn't run into any pedal clearace issues with being only 20 degrees out of phase.