Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
12,721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just switched to clipless pedals and i am having a hard time kicking my habits formed by riding flats. i used to climb with flats (riding a rigid single speed, btw) until i could no longer climb, then just hop off and push my bike up the hill. with clipless, i am trying to ride as if i am still on flats, mashing down on the pedals instead of using the full advantage of being clipped in.

so, any suggestions on how i can learn and improve my technique (or lack thereof) and stop riding as if i am on flats? i fell off my bike and tumbled backwards down a hill three times the last time i went riding and i want to save the cuts and bruises for legitimate gnarly crashes. practice riding up a grassy hill?

any other general tips for learning to ride with clipless pedals? i have over 15 years experience riding freestyle BMX so my basical bike-handling skills are there, but riding clipped in makes me feel like i am starting all over again.

·
Registered
487 Posts
Just because you’re not consciously pulling up on the pedals doesn’t mean that you’re not deriving any of the benefits from being clipped in. Clipless pedals do give you an advantage for uphill riding, but I think your expectations might be slightly higher than the actual results.

Personally, I don’t think it’s possible to be clipped in while riding as though you’re on flats. Whether you like it or not, your foot is pulling in ways not possible with flats. It’s just not outwardly noticeable like you were expecting it to be.

I think you have a good strategy of practicing on more gradual slopes, but I would like to suggest avoiding riding on grass and instead sticking to pre-worn trails. Thank you.

·
Official ***** Idiot
333 Posts