Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
I'm Riding It
652 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new with biking (only biking for about 3-4 months) and I thought I was used to the clipin pedals. But I feel really uncomfortable going up steep hills while clipped in.
Any tips?
Or is it just some getting used to thing? :confused:

·
Old man on a bike
12,395 Posts
Just get used to them, maybe practice on hills where you clip out before it gets to the point of being critical, once you are accustomed to it, it'll be second nature and you won't even think about it...

·
Registered
4,014 Posts
While I can't speak with personal experience, I can tell you about I friend I had with the same problem. My buddy bought his forst bike along with clipless pedals. Try as he did he couldn't get used to them. I gave him my old platforms so he could concentrate on just getting used to shifting, braking, etc. He developed his skills through the year and the following year he tried with the clipless pedals. He's a sworn, clipless-only guy now. ;)

You can always try and buy a pair of platforms and focus more on just getting used to being on a bike period. Once you develop your skills (and muscles) it might be a more natural progression. For the price of platforms, it certainly wouldn't break the bank to try. If you can't get used to the clipless you can always sell them and easily cover the cost of the platforms in the process.

EDIT - one other thing - adjusting the fore/aft position of the cleat, IMHO, makes a BIG difference in ..... everything related to riding. You can try this, too.

·
bi-winning
11,109 Posts
oilerfan30 said:
I'm new with biking (only biking for about 3-4 months) and I thought I was used to the clipin pedals. But I feel really uncomfortable going up steep hills while clipped in.
Any tips?
Or is it just some getting used to thing? :confused: