Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so i was 280 lbs before i started riding trails now i got my hardrock and ive lost 15lbs in a month. Now im hooked wanna upgrade to a specialized epic but still saving in the mean time im debating if i should go to clipless pedal and if so which ones? Want to keep it in the 60 70 dollar range. I hear good about shimano and time aliums which is better for us clydesdales?

jorge

·
Glad to Be Alive
43,010 Posts
i just recently switched to clips on my XC bike......I have fellen likre once or twice each ride because I can't get out (I am a DH rider on flats mostly)

that being said.....I choose a pedal that has both flats and clips on it.....these ones are pretty nice

another view

prices

FYI they keep you stuck in really good.....back tension screw out all the way(easiest to get out)

·
Premium Member
2,381 Posts
i ran SPD's back in the last 90's... put 4 or 5 years on em... not light but they never gave me a problem even with my 225ish lbs...

still had them till about a year ago when i lost them in a move :(...

now that i'm back into cycling i'll be picking up another pair soon... while i like the large flats they just aren't what i like (although they are leaps and bounds better then the small flats i had on my mid 90's bike)...

i'm going with the SPD's based on hearing stories of people braking the clip on the eggbeaters... in the short time i've been back into riding i've hit a number of rocks with my pdeals... i don't feel like having to deal with that... also have a history with SPD's so it's going with what i know kinda thing... if i wasn't going SPD i'd go with Time ATAC's

·
Great... another hobby...
45 Posts
Clipless!!!