Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I would like your preference between clipless pedals and flat pedals for XC.

I'm quite new to mountain biking and many people told me that I must use clipless pedals as soon as possible.

I also would like to know when would be the best time to switch to clipless pedals. Is it as soon as possible ? Or is it when I'll have more experience doing mountain bike.

How did you switch from flat to clipless pedals ? It kind of scares me knowing that I'm tied to my bike.

Thank you very much for your help
--Samus535

·
Registered
12,658 Posts
It's too late to say this, but this topic has been unfortunately argued TO DEATH. Pedals are one of those topics like politics and religion where people pick a side and then become evangelistic, uncompromising assholes about it.This thread will turn into a fight after 5-6 responses. It might be fruitful for you, but you can save yourself the headache and just read a little bit of all that's already been written on the topic.

·
Registered
12,658 Posts
Oh, what the hell, I'll jump in. If you want to use and enjoy flat pedals, you should do is with some good quality, grippy pedals with a decent size flatform and some grippy flat-soled shoes that were designed for mountain biking or at least skateboarding. Most people will get a lousy experience in flexy running sneakers and dinky pedals with molded traction bumps.

·
Registered
460 Posts
If you are uncomfortable with clipless pedals, go flat. But, as mack_turtle says, make sure you get some good shoes to use with a set of pedals. There is no reason to go clipless "as soon as possible". Many longtime riders are on flats. Once you gain comfort on your mountain bike, then move to clipless should you decide to do so.

·
Registered
6,463 Posts