Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,744 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last weekend I did my normal hard loop (about 25 miles) twice. All week my knees have had that clicking/cracking thing and feel really tight. This is more of an annoyance than a problem, but is it an indication that I need to recover more before doing a hard ride?

thanks

·
ROBOTIC RESERVE
639 Posts
GuruAtma said:
Last weekend I did my normal hard loop (about 25 miles) twice. All week my knees have had that clicking/cracking thing and feel really tight. This is more of an annoyance than a problem, but is it an indication that I need to recover more before doing a hard ride?

thanks
I have that same problem / annoyance also. its been going on for the last two rides. The thing that worries me is that its happening all the time (non-bike related) at work and so on... any help would be GREAT

Thanks

·
cyclemaven.net
364 Posts
I'm no doctor so...

of course take what I say with a proper grain of salt.
That said:
It's possible that you are overtraining/overstretching some muscles groups specific to cycling, causing imbalance.
I've had issues with my knees before because of this, and the answer is to crosstrain.
Hiking is excellent. GuruAtma, in Kundilini, they do frogs (28, 56,128 reps) which have definitely helped my knees in the past.
Stretching is important, but keep it light, and don't bounce, don't overstretch.
Hope this helps.

·
Registered
3,744 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ah, the dreaded 128 frogs in 3 minutes. I haven't done those lately. Boy when you look up "clicking knees" on webmd.com, you get some pretty scary results...

·
Team Cspine
492 Posts
Get thee to an orthopedo...

It's possible that you are overtraining/overstretching some muscles groups specific to cycling, causing imbalance.
Imbalance is right on track, no pun intended...